Knovolo Mobile Marketing Reviews

Mobile Marketing on King County Metro | February 6, 2012

I stumbled across this picture that I had taken last year and decided to take an in-depth look at it. It’s an advertisement on the back of a King County Metro bus with a QR code (“Quick Reference” code).

QR code on the back of a King County Metro bus

King County Metro advertisement with mobile QR code

The scanned code points to PAWSwalk.net which is also spelled out next to the QR code on the ad. If you’ve seen our previous blog about a Starbucks mobile marketing campaign, we addressed the confusion created with having a lack of information supporting your code. Nothing on this ad really indicates what you will get by scanning the QR code, but since a URL is nearby, you can assume that you’ll be taken to that URL.

Viewing PAWSwalk.net on an smartphone may be difficult

Screenshot of PAWSwalk on an iPhone

There are a few things I wish to address about this ad. How am I supposed to scan this code? I suppose I can walk around to the back of the bus or scan it from my car (if I’m not driving and I’m close enough) but both of those situations are not ideal. If a mobile user is able to scan the code or enter the URL manually, s/he will find that the webpage is not very mobile-friendly. As we have discussed previously, QR codes must point to mobile webpages for optimal user experience.

As you can see, there will be a lot of zooming in order to find what I’m looking for, and lot’s of irrelevant information for me. This isn’t a very link to send mobile phones to, especially since only new smartphone will be able to render it. A non-smartphone or Blackberry user would simply not be able to navigate this webpage because it wouldn’t render in a legible fashion (if at all).


    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 10 other subscribers