Knovolo Mobile Marketing Reviews

Texting for “Free French Fare” at Mon Ami Gabi | July 25, 2011

The marketing folks at Mon Ami Gabi were certainly headed in the right direction when they set up their texting program, but it falls short in many ways.

Flyer from Mon Ami Gabi Restaurant with SMS Call to Action

As a customer that is rather attached to my mobile phone, I was intrigued by the text message call-to-action (CTA) on this flyer. I texted in the slightly-awkward keyword to the short code, expecting to find out what “French Fare” meant. All that I got back was an automatic response message thanking me for signing up, telling me that I can opt out, and assuring me that I wouldn’t receive more than 4 SMS a month.

This was quite anticlimactic! I’m now signed up for something, but I don’t know what it is. Coupons to the restaurant? A T-shirt? A free trip to Paris? There’s nothing further for me to interact with and I have nothing in particular to look forward to.

I would prefer that the flyer or response text message explain what is going on. It would be nice to have a clearer incentive follow the CTA, and immediate gratification for having texted in. I’d like to know that I’m now part of the MAG “mobile club,” or that next time I can reserve a table via text, or that I can get a free drink at happy hour next week by presenting my confirmation SMS to the server.

Overall, Mon Ami Gabi is certainly headed in the right direction to engage its customers on their mobile devices, but this campaign reminds me of what we were doing in 2007. Today’s mobile campaigns should have one or more of the following: excellent mobile-optimized webpage, QR code/MS Tag, social network integration, clear CTAs, mobile coupons, mCommerce options, GPS functionality, and something that immediately grabs consumers.

Nevertheless, this is further proof of mobile marketing and engagement finally having a real presence in retail & marketing in the United States, and I look forward to MAG’s next mobile effort!


    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 10 other subscribers